

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Subdivision of the State of California

1030 Seminary Street, Suite B Napa, California 94559 Phone: (707) 259-8645 Fax: (707) 251-1053 www.napa.lafco.ca.gov

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

Agenda Item 5c

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

PREPARED BY: Brendon Freeman, Analyst

MEETING DATE: December 1, 2014

SUBJECT: Designation of Chair and Vice Chair for Calendar Year 2015

SUMMARY

It is the policy of the Commission to annually rotate the Chair and Vice Chair among its regular members. The subject policy was adopted in August 2004 and assigns seat designations for all five regular positions on the Commission. The underlying purpose of the policy is to provide an automatic and predetermined rotation of the Chair and Vice Chair at the beginning of each calendar year. The policy ensures each regular member position and – in the case of county and city members – their appointing authority has an opportunity to serve as the Commission's presiding officer.

With the preceding comments in mind, and based on the current roster, the Commission's adopted policy designates City Member I and County Member I as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, in 2015. The complete rotation schedule follows.

2015 Chair Schedule	2015 Vice Chair Schedule
1. City Member I (Bennett)	1. County Member I (Dodd)
2. County Member I (Dodd)	2. City Member II (Pitts)
3. City Member II (Pitts)	3. County Member II (Wagenknecht)
4. County Member II (Wagenknecht)	4. Public Member (Kelly)
5. Public Member (Kelly)	5. City Member I (Bennett)

ATTACHMENT

1) Policy on Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair



Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County

Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair

It is the policy of the Commission that:

- 1. This policy becomes effective January 1, 2005.
- 2. The terms of office of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be one calendar year and shall begin on January 1.
- 3. Upon the date of adoption of this policy, for the purposes of establishing a rotational system for the appointment of the chair and vice-chair, each regular member seat on the Commission shall have a designation as indicated in the following table:

<u>Seat Designation</u> <u>Occupant of Seat on Aug. 1, 2004</u>

City Member I Lori Luporini
City Member II Ken Slavens
County Member I Mike Rippey
County Member II Brad Wagenknecht

Public Member Guy Kay

It shall be the responsibility of the Executive Officer to maintain a record of the seat designations and occupants.

- 4. The Chair on January 1, 2005 shall be the occupant of the seat designated City Member I.
- 5. The Vice-Chair of the Commission shall be appointed according to the following:

<u>Seat Designation of the Chair</u> <u>Seat Designation of the Vice-Chair</u>

City Member I County Member I
County Member I City Member II
City Member II County Member II
County Member II Public Member
Public Member City Member I

- 6. Upon completion of a term as Vice-Chair, that member shall be appointed to serve as the Chair of the Commission.
- 7. If a vacancy should be created in the office of the Chair for any reason, the members shall, at the next regular meeting, appoint the Vice-Chair to fill the vacancy for the remaining unexpired term.
- 8. If a vacancy should be created in the office of the Vice-Chair for any reason, the members shall, at the next regular meeting, appoint a Vice-Chair to fill the vacancy

Adopted: August 3, 2004

Updated: July 25, 2005; October 6, 2014

- for the remaining unexpired term in accordance with the system set forth in Statement #5.
- 9. If a member fulfills an unexpired term of the Chair, he shall be appointed to fulfill the subsequent full term of the office.
- 10. The Commission may create temporary changes to the schedule in Statement #5 as part of an action item placed on the agenda.

Adopted: August 3, 2004

Updated: July 25, 2005; October 6, 2014