

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

Agenda Item 5c

TO:	Local Agency Formation Commission
PREPARED BY:	Brendon Freeman, Executive Officer
MEETING DATE:	April 4, 2016
SUBJECT:	Designation of Chair and Vice Chair

SUMMARY

It is the policy of the Commission to rotate the Chair and Vice Chair positions among its regular members. The subject policy was most recently amended in June 2015 and assigns seat designations for all five regular positions on the Commission. The terms of office of the Chair and Vice Chair coincide with beginning and ending dates of the Commission's terms of appointment as members. The underlying purpose of the policy is to provide an automatic and predetermined rotation of the Chair and Vice Chair on May 1st of each calendar year.

The Commission's adopted policy designates County Member I and City Member II as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, from May 1, 2016 through April 30, 2017. The complete rotation schedule follows.

2016-17 Chair Schedule	2016-17 Vice Chair Schedule
1. County Member I (Dillon)	1. City Member II (Pitts)
2. City Member II (Pitts)	2. County Member II (Wagenknecht)
3. County Member II (Wagenknecht)	3. Public Member (Kelly)
4. Public Member (Kelly)	4. City Member I (Inman)
5. City Member I (Inman)	5. County Member I (Dillon)

ATTACHMENT

1) Policy on Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair

Juliana Inman, Chair Councilmember, City of Napa

Greg Pitts, Commissioner Councilmember, City of St. Helena

Joan Bennett, Alternate Commissioner Councilmember, City of American Canyon Diane Dillon, Vice Chair County of Napa Supervisor, 3rd District

Brad Wagenknecht, Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 1st District

Keith Caldwell, Alternate Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 5th District Brian J. Kelly, Commissioner Representative of the General Public

Gregory Rodeno, Alternate Commissioner Representative of the General Public

> Brendon Freeman Executive Officer



LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF NAPA

Policy on Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair (Adopted: August 3, 2004; Last Amended: June 29, 2015)

It is the policy of the Commission that:

- 1. The terms of office of the Chair and Vice Chair shall be for one year, from May 1 to April 30.
- 2. Pursuant to the chart below, the Commission hereby establishes a rotational system for the appointment of the Chair and Vice Chair, effective May 1, 2015:

<u>Chair Designations</u> City Member I County Member I City Member II County Member II Public Member Vice Chair Designations County Member I City Member II County Member II Public Member City Member I

It shall be the responsibility of the Executive Officer to maintain a record of the seat designations and occupants.

- 3. Pursuant to the table in Section 2 above, the Chair on May 1, 2015, shall be the occupant of the seat designated City Member I.
- 4. The offices of Chair and Vice Chair shall reside with the particular individual assigned to a designated seat. In the event that a Commissioner serving as Chair or Vice Chair is no longer able to serve on the Commission for any reason, the remainder of that Commissioner's term in office shall be fulfilled by the other Commissioner from the same appointing authority. (For example, if the Commissioner designated as "City Member I" is removed from the office of Chair in January, the Commissioner designated "City Member II" shall serve as Chair until April 30.)
 - A. On the following May 1, the established rotation schedule set forth in Section 2, above, shall resume.
 - B. Should the office of Chair or Vice Chair be vacated by the Public Member, the alternate Public Member shall fulfill the remainder of the officer's unexpired term. In the absence of an alternate Public Member, the Commission shall appoint another Commissioner at its next meeting to fulfill the remainder of the officer's unexpired term.
- 4. The Commission may create temporary changes to the schedule in Section 2 as part of an action item placed on the agenda.