
 
 
 

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County 
Schedule of Fees and Deposits 

 
Effective Date: July 2, 2010 

 
 
 

The policy of the Commission is: 
 
1. This fee schedule shall be administered in accordance with the provisions of 

California Government Code Section 56383. 
 
2. Applications submitted to the Commission shall be accompanied by a non-refundable 

initial fee as detailed in this schedule. 
 
3. Applicants are responsible for any fees or charges incurred by the Commission or 

required by other agencies in the course of the processing of an application. 
 
4. Initial fees include a fixed number of staff hours as detailed in the fee schedule or are 

designated as “at cost.” 
 
5. Additional Commission staff time shall be charged to the applicant at an hourly rate 

of $107.00. 
 
6. Applicants are responsible for any extraordinary administrative costs as determined 

by the Executive Officer and detailed for the applicant in a written statement. 
 
7. Additional Commission staff time and administrative costs shall not be charged for 

city annexation applications that are comprised solely of one, entire unincorporated 
island. 

 
8. If the Executive Officer estimates a proposal will require more than 20 hours staff 

time to complete, he or she shall provide a written statement to that effect to the 
applicant and request a deposit in an amount sufficient to cover anticipated costs.  If 
this or any subsequent deposit proves insufficient, the Executive Officer shall provide 
an accounting of expenditures and request deposit of additional funds. 

 
9. If the processing of an application requires the Commission contract from another 

agency or from a private firm or individual for services that are beyond the normal 
scope of staff work (such as the drafting of an Environmental Impact Report or 
Comprehensive Fiscal Analysis), the applicant shall be responsible for all costs 
associated with that contract.  The applicant will provide the Commission with a 
deposit sufficient to cover the cost of the contract. 

 
10. The Executive Officer may stop work on any proposal until the applicant submits a 

requested deposit. 
 
 
 
 



 
 

11. Written appeal of fees and/or deposits, specifying the reason for the appeal, may be 
submitted to the Commission prior to the submission of an application or prior to the 
submission of a deposit requested by the Executive Officer.  The appeal will be 
considered at the next regular meeting of the Commission. 

 
12. Upon completion of a project, the Executive Officer shall issue to the applicant a 

statement detailing all expenditures from a deposit for additional time and materials 
and shall have a refund for any remaining funds issued to the applicant.  



 
 

 
INITIAL APPLICATION FEES 

Change of Organization or Reorganizations: Annexations and Detachments  
 

Exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act 
 

• With 100% consent of property owners and affected agencies:   $3,852(30 hours) 
• Without 100% consent of property owners and affected agencies:   $5,136 (40 hours) 

 
Not exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act 
(The Commission is a Responsible Agency; Negative Declaration) 
 

• With 100% consent of property owners and affected agencies:    $4,494(35 hours) 
• Without 100% consent of property owners and affected agencies:    $5,778 (45 hours) 

 
Not exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act 
(The Commission is a Responsible Agency; Environmental Impact Report) 
 

• With 100% consent of property owners and affected agencies:     $5,136(40 hours) 
• Without 100% consent of property owners and affected agencies: $6,420 (50 hours)  

 
* All initial application fees for annexation and detachment proposals include a 20% surcharge 

to contribute to the costs in preparing municipal service reviews. 
 

*   Annexation or detachment proposals that involve boundary changes for more than two agencies 
and qualify as reorganizations will be charged an additional fee of $515 (5 hours).    

 
*  City annexations involving entire unincorporated islands and subject to California Government 

Code Section 56375.3 will be charged a flat fee of $500.  
 
*  If the Commission is the Lead Agency and an Initial Study is needed to determine whether a 

Negative Declaration or Environmental Impact Report is appropriate, applicants will be 
charged at the hourly staff rate. 

   
Change of Organizations or Reorganizations: Other   
 

• Special District Formations, Consolidations, Mergers, and Dissolutions:   Actual Cost 
• City Incorporations or Dissolutions:          Actual Cost 

       
Special Studies 
 

• Municipal Service Review:           Actual Cost 
• Sphere of Influence Review:                       Actual Cost 
 (Establishment, Amendment, or Update) 

 
 
 
 



 
 
Request to Activate Latent Power                            $5,136 (40 hours) 
 
*  The initial application fee for the activation of a latent power includes a 20% surcharge to 

contribute to the costs in preparing municipal service reviews.  
 
Request for an Extension of Time              $535 (5 hours) 
 
Request to Approve an Outside Service Agreement               $2,568 (20 hours) 
 
*  The initial application fee to approve an outside service agreement includes a 20% surcharge to 

contribute to the costs in preparing municipal service reviews. 
 
Request for Reconsideration               $2,140 (20 hours) 
 
Special Meeting Fee                $800 
 
Alternate Legal Counsel Fee              Actual Cost 
 

 
OTHER APPLICATION FEES 

Assessor Mapping Service 
(Made payable to the “County of Napa”)             $125  
 
Map and Geographic Description Review   
(Made payable to the “County of Napa”)         $447 (3 hours) 
 
Registered Voter List for Public Hearing Notice           $55 (1 hour) 
(Made payable to the “County of Napa”) 
  
Geographic Information Service           $125 (1 hour) 
(Made payable to “LAFCO of Napa County”)  
 
California Department of Fish and Game Environmental Filing Fees 
(Made payable to the “County of Napa Clerk Recorder”)     
 
 

• Environmental Impact Report:      $2,792.25 
Commission as Lead Agency 

• Negative Declaration:       $2,010.25 
• Mitigated Negative Declaration       $2,010.25 
• Clerk-Recorder Filing Fee:      $50.00 

 

• Notice of Determination (Represents Clerk Filing Fee):   $50.00 
Commission as Responsible Agency 

• Notice of Exemption (Represents Clerk Filing Fee):   $50.00 
  
 
 



 
 
Filing of Change to Jurisdictional Boundary 
(Made payable to the “State Board of Equalization”) 
 

Acre Amount Fee Acre Amount 
Less than 1:   

Fee 
$300 51 to 100:   $1,500 

1 to 5:   $350 101 to 500:   $2,000 
6 to 10:  $500 500 to 1,000:   $2,500 
11 to 20:  $800 1,000 to 2,000:  $3,000 
21 to 50: $1,200 2,000 and above:  $3,500 

 
 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE FEES 

The following are charges to be assessed to persons or entities other than the applicant. 
 

• Copying (no color):   $0.10 per page 
• Copying (color):    $0.40 per page 
• Faxing:     $1.00 service charge, plus $0.15 per page  
• Mailing:     Actual Cost 
• Audio Tape Recording of Meeting: Actual Cost 
• Research/Achieve Retrieval:  $97 per hour (minimum of one hour) 
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