

December 6, 2010 Agenda Item No. 5e (Consent: Information)

November 29, 2010

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM: Keene Simonds, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Designation of Chair and Vice Chair for 2011 The Commission will receive a report regarding the designation of the Chair and Vice Chair for the 2011 calendar year. The report is being presented for information.

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 specifies each Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) shall comprise no less than five regular members made by appointment. This includes two members appointed by the board of supervisors, two members appointed by the city selection committee, and one member appointed by the other four regular members.

A. Information

LAFCO of Napa County's ("Commission") *Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair* policy establishes an annual rotation system with respect to the designation of the Chair and Vice Chair among its regular members. This policy was adopted in August 2004 and assigns seat designations for all five regular positions on the Commission. The underlying purpose of the policy is to provide an automatic and predetermined rotation of the Chair and Vice Chair at the beginning of each calendar year to ensure each regular member position will have an opportunity to serve as the presiding officer.

The Commission's adopted policy designates Commissioners Dodd and Chilton as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, in 2011. The complete rotation schedule follows.

Chair Schedule	Vice Chair Schedule
1. County Member I (Dodd)	1. City Member II (Chilton)
2. City Member II (Chilton)	2. County Member II (Wagenknecht)
3. County Member II (Wagenknecht)	3. Public Member (Kelly)
4. Public Member (Kelly)	4. City Member I (Inman)
5. City Member I (Inman)	5. County Member I (Dodd)

Juliana Inman, Chair Councilmember, City of Napa

Lewis Chilton, Commissioner Councilmember, Town of Yountville

Joan Bennett, Alternate Commissioner Councilmember, City of American Canyon Bill Dodd, Vice Chair County of Napa Supervisor, 4th District

Brad Wagenknecht, Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 1st District

Mark Luce, Alternate Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 2nd District Brian J. Kelly, Commissioner Representative of the General Public

Gregory Rodeno, Alternate Commissioner Representative of the General Public Designation of Chair and Vice Chair in 2011 December 6, 2010 Page 2 of 2

B. Commission Review

The Commission is invited to review and discuss the staff report as needed.

Attachment:

1) Commission Policy: Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair