

## December 7, 2009 Agenda Item No. 6d (Consent: Information)

November 30, 2009

- **TO:** Local Agency Formation Commission
- **FROM:** Keene Simonds, Executive Officer
- **SUBJECT:** Designation of Chair and Vice-Chair for 2010 The Commission will receive a report regarding the designation of the Chair and Vice-Chair for the 2010 calendar year. The report is being presented for information.

The Commission's *Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair* policy establishes an annual rotation system with respect to the designation of the Chair and Vice-Chair. This policy was adopted on August 3, 2004 and assigns seat designations for all five regular positions on the Commission (two city, two county, and one public). The purpose of the policy is to provide an automatic and predetermined rotation of the Chair and Vice-Chair at the beginning of each calendar year.

## A. Information

The Commission's adopted policy designates Commissioners Inman and Dodd as Chair and Vice-Chair, respectively, in 2010. The complete rotation schedule for the Chair and Vice-Chair as of January 1, 2010 follows.

Chair Schedule	Vice-Chair Schedule
1. City Member I (Inman)	1. County Member I (Dodd)
2. County Member I (Dodd)	2. City Member II (Chilton)
3. City Member II (Chilton)	3. County Member II (Wagenknecht)
4. County Member II (Wagenknecht)	4. Public Member (Kelly)
5. Public Member (Kelly)	5. City Member I (Inman)

### Attachment:

1) Commission Policy: Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair

Juliana Inman, Vice Chair Councilmember, City of Napa

Lewis Chilton, Commissioner Councilmember, Town of Yountville

Joan Bennett, Alternate Commissioner Councilmember, City of American Canyon Bill Dodd, Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 4th District

Brad Wagenknecht, Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 1st District

Mark Luce, Alternate Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 2nd District Brian J. Kelly, Chair Representative of the General Public

Gregory Rodeno, Alternate Commissioner Representative of the General Public

> Keene Simonds Executive Officer

#### Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County

Policy For the Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair (Adopted: August 3, 2004)

It is the policy of the Commission that:

- 1. This policy becomes effective January 1, 2005.
- 2. The terms of office of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be one calendar year and shall begin on January 1.
- 3. Upon the date of adoption of this policy, for the purposes of establishing a rotational system for the appointment of the chair and vice-chair, each regular member seat on the Commission shall have a designation as indicated in the following table:

Seat Designation	Occupant of Seat on Aug. 1, 2004
City Member I	Lori Luporini
City Member II	Ken Slavens
County Member I	Mike Rippey
County Member II	Brad Wagenknecht
Public Member	Guy Kay

It shall be the responsibility of the Executive Officer to maintain a record of the seat designations and occupants.

- 4. The Chair on January 1, 2005 shall be the occupant of the seat designated City Member I.
- 5. The Vice-Chair of the Commission shall be appointed according to the following:

Seat Designation of the Chair	Seat Designation of the Vice-Chair
City Member I	County Member I
County Member I	City Member II
City Member II	County Member II
County Member II	Public Member
Public Member	City Member I

- 6. Upon completion of a term as Vice-Chair, that member shall be appointed to serve as the Chair of the Commission.
- 7. If a vacancy should be created in the office of the Chair for any reason, the members shall, at the next regular meeting, appoint the Vice-Chair to fill the vacancy for the remaining unexpired term.
- 8. If a vacancy should be created in the office of the Vice-Chair for any reason, the members shall, at the next regular meeting, appoint a Vice-Chair to fill the vacancy for the remaining unexpired term in accordance with the system set forth in Statement #5.
- 9. If a member fulfills an unexpired term of the Chair, he shall be appointed to fulfill the subsequent full term of the office.
- 10. The Commission may create temporary changes to the schedule in Statement #5 as part of an action item placed on the agenda.

# Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County

Policy For the Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair

Seat Designations and Occupants Updated: July 25, 2005

City Member I City Member II County Member I County Member II Public Member Lori Luporini Dr. Andrew Alexander Bill Dodd Brad Wagenknecht Guy Kay