1700 Second Street, Suite 268 Napa, CA 94559 (707) 259-8645 FAX (707) 251-1053 http://napa.lafco.ca.gov

December 3, 2007 Agenda Item No. 10a

November 26, 2007

TO: **Local Agency Formation Commission**

FROM: Keene Simonds, Executive Officer

Designation of Chair and Vice-Chair for 2008 (Information) SUBJECT:

The Commission will receive a report regarding the designation of the

Chair and Vice-Chair for the 2008 calendar year.

The Commission's Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair policy establishes an annual rotation system with respect to the appointment of the Chair and Vice-Chair. This policy was adopted in August 2004 and assigns seat designations for all five regular positions on the Commission (two city, two county, and one public). The purpose of the policy is to provide an automatic and predetermined rotation of the Chair and Vice-Chair at the beginning of each calendar year.

The current rotation order for the Chair and Vice-Chair are:

Seat Designation for Chair Seat Designation for Vice-Chair City Member II (Gingles) County Member II (Wagenknecht)

County Member II (Wagenknecht) Public Member (Kelly) Public Member (Kelly) City Member I (Inman) City Member I (Inman) County Member I (Dodd) County Member I (Dodd) City Member II (Gingles)

The rotation order for the Chair and Vice-Chair in 2008:

Seat Designation for Chair Seat Designation for Vice-Chair

County Member II (Wagenknecht) Public Member (Kelly) Public Member (Kelly) City Member I (Inman) City Member I (Inman) County Member I (Dodd) County Member I (Dodd) City Member II (Gingles)

City Member II (Gingles) County Member II (Wagenknecht)

Accordingly, based on this rotation system, Commissioners Wagenknecht and Kelly will serve as Chair and Vice-Chair, respectively, in 2008.

Brad Wagenknecht, Vice-Chair

Brian J. Kelly, Commissioner