

## 2012 Board of Directors

## Chair

JERRY GLADBACH Los Angeles LAFCo

## Vice Chair THEODORE NOVELLI

Amador LAFCo
Secretary

## MARY JANE GRIEGO Yuba LAFCo

#### Treasurer JOHN LEOPOLD Santa Cruz LAFCo

JULIE ALLEN

PAT BATES Orange LAFCo

MATTHEW BEEKMAN Stansilaus LAFCo

LOUIS CUNNINGHAM Ventura LAFCo

LARRY R. DUNCAN

KAY HOSMER

JULIANA INMAN Napa LAFCo

GAY JONES Sacramento LAFCo

MICHAEL R. MCGILL

EUGENE MONTANEZ

JOSH SUSMAN Nevada LAFCo

ANDY VANDERLAAN San Diego LAFCo

# Staff

WILLIAM S. CHIAT

LOU ANN TEXEIRA Executive Officer

> CLARK ALSOP Legal Counsel

JUNE SAVALA Deputy Executive Officer

MARJORIE BLOM Deputy Executive Officer

STEPHEN LUCAS Deputy Executive Officer

> JAMIE SZUTOWICZ Executive Assistant

1215 K Street, Suite 1650 Sacramento, CA 95814

> Voice 916-442-6536 Fax 916-442-6535

www.calafco.org

September 15, 2012

**TO** Regional Representatives and Member LAFCos

FROM Elliot Mulberg, Chair

**CALAFCO Recruitment Committee** 

# **RE** Recruitment Committee Report for 2012 CALAFCO Board Elections

In accordance with the CALAFCO Bylaws and Nomination and Election Procedures, the CALAFCO Recruitment Committee has solicited nominations for the regional election of the eight open director positions on the CALAFCO Board of Directors. The elections will be conducted in regional caucuses to be held at the annual conference on Thursday, October 4, 2012 from 8:00 to 8:50 a.m. Any seat not filled through the regional caucus election process in accordance with CALAFCO Bylaws will be filled through an at-large election for one term at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, October 4, 2012, beginning at 9:00 am.

Attached is a list of the candidates nominated within each of the four regions (Northern, Central, Coastal and Southern) for their respective city, county, special district and public member seats. Nominations from the floor will also be solicited during the caucus election process. All terms are two years.

Those member LAFCos not in attendance at the annual meeting may vote by electronic ballot in advance of the meeting. They may only vote for those candidates nominated by the Recruitment Committee. According to Section 4.2.2 of the CALAFCO Bylaws, in the event that less than 50% of a region's LAFCos vote (in person or electronically) to fill an open director position, it becomes at-large for one term and shall be elected at the Annual Meeting.

The CALAFCO Recruitment Committee has confirmed that all nominations were complete and received by the final filing date of September 4<sup>th</sup> at 5:00 pm; and that with the exception of the city seat in the North Region the number of nominations received per category was sufficient to fill the vacant seats. The vacant city seat will be filled by the procedure outlined above.

Copies of the nomination forms and resumes of all candidates within your region are attached and are posted on the CALAFCO website at: <a href="https://www.calafco.org/2012elections">www.calafco.org/2012elections</a>. All nominations and resumes will also be posted at the annual conference near the registration desk.

cc: CALAFCO Board of Directors

# **NOMINATIONS FOR THE 2012 BOARD OF DIRECTORS ELECTIONS**

Seat	Nominee	County	Region
NORTHERN REGION			
City	NO NOMINATIONS		
Public	Josh Sussman*	Nevada	Northern
CENTRAL REGION			
County	Ted Novelli*	Amador	Central
County	Doug Verboon	Kings	Central
City (1 year term)	Matthew Beekman*	Stanislaus	Central
City (1 year term) City (1 year term)	Jack Lynch Johnny Mays	Calaveras Merced	Central Central
City (1 year term)	Mike Singleton	Sacramento	Central
Special District	Gay Jones*	Sacramento	Central
COASTAL REGION			
County	John Leopold*	Santa Cruz	Coastal
Special District	Michael McGill*	Contra Costa	Coastal
SOUTHERN REGION			
City	Eugene Montanez*	Riverside	Southern
Public	Stephen J. Tomanelli	Riverside	Southern

<sup>\*</sup> incumbent