

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Subdivision of the State of California

1754 Second Street, Suite C Napa, California 94559 Phone: (707) 259-8645 www.napa.lafco.ca.gov

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

Agenda Item 5c (Consent/Information)

Local Agency Formation Commission TO:

Dawn Mittleman Longoria, Assistant Executive Officer DML PREPARED BY:

MEETING DATE: April 8, 2024

Update on Countywide Fire and Emergency Medical Services **SUBJECT:**

Municipal Service Review and Sphere of Influence Reviews

BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY

This is a consent item for information purposes only. Accordingly, if interested, the Commission is invited to pull this item for additional discussion with the concurrence of the Chair. No formal action will be taken as part of this item.

On October 2, 2023, the Commission took the following actions:

- 1) Authorized the ad hoc Request for Proposals (RFP) Committee to select a preferred consultant and negotiate a contract to prepare the Countywide Fire and Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Municipal Service Review (MSR) and Sphere of Influence (SOI) Reviews; and
- 2) Authorized the Commission Chair to sign a contract with the preferred consultant.

On November 28, 2023, the Commission Chair signed the contract with the firm preferred by the ad hoc committee, AP Triton.

Project Update

AP Triton has added a new team member to this project, Kathleen Rollings-McDonald. Ms. Rollings-McDonald is well known and respected among LAFCOs. She is the former Executive Officer of San Bernardino LAFCO and recipient of CALAFCO's Lifetime Achievement Award (2017).

The consultants are continuing to collect data. Although this portion of the project can be time consuming, it provides the foundation of the study. Initially, there were some delays in the provision of data. The team is currently working through those delays. Additional updates will continue to be provided at future Commission meetings.

Mariam Aboudamous, Alternate Commissioner

Councilmember, City of American Canyon

Anne Cottrell, Chair