

DECEMBER 4, 2006 AGENDA ITEM NO. 11b

November 27, 2006

ТО:	Local Agency Formation Commission
FROM:	Keene Simonds, Executive Officer
SUBJECT:	Designation of Chair and Vice-Chair for 2007 (Information) The Commission will receive a report regarding the designation of the Chair and Vice-Chair for 2007.

The Commission's *Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair* policy establishes an annual rotation system with respect to the appointment of the Chair and Vice-Chair (copy attached). This policy, which was adopted in August 2004, assigns seat designations for all five regular positions on the Commission (two city, two county, and one public). The purpose of this policy is to provide an automatic and predetermined rotation of the Chair and Vice-Chair at the beginning of each calendar year.

The current rotation order for the Chair and Vice-Chair are:

<u>Seat Designation for Chair</u> County Member I (Dodd) City Member II (Alexander) County Member II (Wagenknecht) Public Member (Kay) City Member I (Block) Seat Designation for Vice-Chair City Member II (Alexander) County Member II (Wagenknecht) Public Member (Kay) City Member I (Block) County Member I (Dodd)

The rotation order for the Chair and Vice-Chair in 2007:

2007 Designation for Chair	2007 Designation for Vice-Chair
City Member II (Alexander)	County Member II (Wagenknecht)
County Member II (Wagenknecht)	Public Member (<i>Kay</i>)
Public Member (Kay)	City Member I (Block)
City Member I (Block)	County Member I (Dodd)
County Member I (Dodd)	City Member II (Alexander)

* Names listed in italics denote that the Commissioner is vacating their position and will not be a member of LAFCO in 2007.

Based on this rotation system, and in response to the pending vacancy of Commission Alexander, the City Selection Committee's appointee to fill Commissioner Alexander's unexpired term will serve as Chair for LAFCO in 2007. Commissioner Wagenknecht will serve as Vice-Chair.

Dr. Andrew Alexander, Vice-Chair Mayor, City of Calistoga

Kevin Block, Commissioner Councilmember, City of Napa

Cindy Coffey, Alt. Commissioner Councilmember, City of American Canyon Bill Dodd, Chair Supervisor, 4th District

Brad Wagenknecht, Commissioner Supervisor, 1st District

Mark Luce, Alt. Commissioner Supervisor, 2nd District Guy Kay, Commissioner Representative of the General Public

Brian Kelly, Alt. Commissioner Representative of the General Public

> Keene Simonds Executive Officer