

## Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Subdivision of the State of California

1030 Seminary Street, Suite B Napa, California 94559 Phone: (707) 259-8645 www.napa.lafco.ca.gov

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

## **Agenda Item 5f (Consent/Information)**

**TO:** Local Agency Formation Commission

**PREPARED BY:** Brendon Freeman, Executive Officer

**MEETING DATE:** April 5, 2021

**SUBJECT:** Chair Rotation

#### **SUMMARY**

This is a consent item for information purposes only. Accordingly, if interested, the Commission is invited to pull this item for additional discussion with the concurrence of the Chair. No formal action will be taken as part of this item.

The Commission's *Policy on Establishing the Officers of the Commission* ("the Policy"), included as Attachment One, provides an annual rotational system for the appointment of the Chair and Vice Chair offices based on seat designations. Each regular Commissioner is assigned a seat designation. Alternate Commissioners do not have seat designations and are not eligible for the Chair or Vice Chair offices. The Chair and Vice Chair serve one-year terms that begin on the first Monday in May.

Under Section VI of the Policy, Commissioner Mohler became the Chair on December 1, 2020, and will serve as Chair through May 2, 2021. Vice Chair Dillon will become Chair on May 3, 2021.

On December 1, 2020, the office of Chair previously held by Kenneth Leary (then City Member I) became vacant and was filled by Commissioner Mohler (City Member II) consistent with Section VI of the Policy.

Under the Policy, Commissioners Dillon (County Member I) and Mohler (City Member II) will serve as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, from May 3, 2021 through May 1, 2022. A full listing of current Commissioners, seat designations, and schedules for the Chair and Vice Chair rotation is provided on the following page.

Beth Painter, Alternate Commissioner

Councilmember, City of Napa

Diane Dillon, Vice Chair

County of Napa Supervisor, 3rd District

# **Current Commissioners and Seat Designations**

Current Member	Seat Designation
Mariam Aboudamous	City Member I
Margie Mohler	City Member II
Diane Dillon	County Member I
Brad Wagenknecht	County Member II
Vacant	Public Member
Beth Painter	Alternate City Member
Ryan Gregory	Alternate County Member
Eve Kahn	Alternate Public Member

# **Schedule for Chair and Vice Chair Rotation**

Term	Chair	Vice Chair
May 3, 2021 through May 1, 2022	County Member I	City Member II
May 2, 2022 through April 30, 2023	City Member II	County Member II
May 1, 2023 through May 5, 2024	County Member II	Public Member
May 6, 2024 through May 4, 2025	Public Member	City Member I
May 5, 2025 through May 3, 2026	City Member I	County Member I

# **ATTACHMENT**

1) Policy on Establishing the Officers of the Commission



## LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF NAPA COUNTY

# Policy on Establishing the Officers of the Commission

(Adopted: August 9, 2001; Last Amended: November 18, 2019)

#### I. Background

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization ("CKH") Act of 2000 includes provisions specifying the composition of the Commission in <u>Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 56325)</u>. In addition, these sections specify the procedures to select Commissioners, terms of office, and selection of the Chair of the Commission.

## II. Purpose

It is the policy of the Commission to establish policies which provide for the smooth and consistent operations of Commission business. The selection of officers of the Commission is a regular occurrence and therefore should follow adopted policy.

#### III. Officers of the Commission

- A) The officers of LAFCO shall consist of a Chair, a Vice Chair, and a Clerk.
- B) The Chair and Vice Chair shall be appointed and serve terms in accordance with Section V "Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair."
- C) The Executive Officer or the Executive Officer's designee shall serve as the Clerk.

#### **IV. Duties of Officers**

- A) Duties of the Chair: The Chair shall preside at all meetings of the Commission and shall conduct the business of the Commission according to "Rosenberg's Rules of Order." The Chair shall preserve order and decorum and shall decide all questions of order subject to the action of a majority of the Commission.
- B) Duties of the Vice Chair: In the absence of the Chair, the Vice Chair shall assume all duties and responsibilities of the Chair's office.
- C) Duties of the Clerk: The Clerk shall call the roll, note approval of the minutes or corrections thereto, maintain record of testimony and action of the Commission on each item, and any other action deemed appropriate and necessary by the Commission to conduct its meetings and business.

### V. Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair

- A) Term of Office: The terms of office of the Chair and Vice Chair shall be for one year, beginning on the first Monday in May.
- B) Rotation: The Chair and Vice Chair shall be appointed by the Commission according to the following annual rotational system, effective May 4, 2020, unless a temporary change is made pursuant to Section V(C):

Chair Designations	Vice Chair Designations
City Member I	County Member I
County Member I	City Member II
City Member II	County Member II
County Member II	Public Member
Public Member	City Member I

It shall be the responsibility of the Executive Officer to maintain a record of the seat designations and occupants, and to annually inform the Commission prior to the rotation.

C) The Commission may create temporary changes to the rotation as part of an action item placed on a meeting agenda.

## VI. Vacancy

The offices of Chair and Vice Chair shall reside with the particular appointing authority assigned to a designated seat. In the event that a Commissioner serving as Chair or Vice Chair is no longer able to serve on the Commission for any reason, the remainder of that Commissioner's term in office shall be fulfilled by the other Commissioner from the same appointing authority (for example, if the Commissioner designated as "City Member I" is removed from the office of Chair in January, the Commissioner designated "City Member II" shall serve as Chair through the day immediately prior to the first Monday in May), subject to the following:

- A) On the first Monday in May, the established rotation set forth in Section V(B) "Rotation," above, shall resume.
- B) Should the office of Chair or Vice Chair be vacated by the Public Member, the Commission shall appoint another Commissioner at its next meeting to fulfill the remainder of the officer's unexpired term.