

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF NAPA COUNTY MEETING MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 6, 2023

1. WELCOME AND CALL TO ORDER; ROLL CALL

Chair Mohler called the regular meeting of February 6, 2023, to order at 2:02 PM. At the time of roll call, the following Commissioners and staff were present:

Regular Commissioners	Alternate Commissioners	Staff
Margie Mohler, Chair	Joelle Gallagher	Brendon Freeman, Executive Officer
Anne Cottrell, Vice Chair	Eve Kahn	Gary Bell, Commission Counsel
Mariam Aboudamous	Beth Painter	
Kenneth Leary		Excused: Dawn Mittleman Longoria,
Belia Ramos		Assistant Executive Officer and Interim Clerk

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chair Mohler led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. OATH OF OFFICE FOR NEW COMMISSIONERS

Commission Counsel administered Oaths of Office for new Commissioners Cottrell, Ramos, and Gallagher.

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair Mohler asked if there were any requests to rearrange the agenda. There were no requests.

5. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Chair Mohler invited members of the audience to provide public comment. No comments were received.

6. RECOGNITION OF SERVICE: Ryan Gregory

7. SPECIAL PRESENTATION: LAFCO 101

Staff presented an introduction to LAFCO, including an overview of LAFCO's history, powers, and legislative mandates. At the conclusion of the presentation, Chair Mohler requested comments and questions from the Commission. The Commission discussed the presentation and noted resources from the state association, California Association of LAFCOs, as well as those on the Napa LAFCO website.

8. CONSENT ITEMS

Action Items:

a) Approval of Meeting Minutes: December 5, 2022, Regular Meeting

Receive Report for Information Only:

- b) Second Quarter Budget Report for Fiscal Year 2022-23
- c) Current and Future Proposals
- d) CALAFCO Quarterly Newsletter and 2023 Events Calendar
- e) Local Policy Manual
- f) Directory of Local Agencies Subject to LAFCO Jurisdiction

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Meeting Minutes of February 6, 2023 Page 2 of 3

Chair Mohler asked if Commissioners wanted to discuss any of the consent items, no requests were made. Chair Mohler invited members of the audience to provide public comment. No comments were received. Legal Counsel Bell responded to legal questions. It was determined that consent item 8a would be considered separately.

Upon motion by Commissioner Ramos and second by Commissioner Leary, the consent items 8(b-f) were approved by the following vote:

VOTE:

AYES: RAMOS, LEARY, ABOUDAMOUS, COTTRELL, AND MOHLER

NOES: NONE ABSENT: NONE ABSTAIN: NONE

Upon motion by Commissioner Leary and second by Chair Mohler, the consent item 8a was approved by the following vote:

VOTE:

AYES: <u>LEARY, MOHLER, AND ABOUDAMOUS</u>

NOES: NONE ABSENT: NONE

ABSTAIN: COTTRELL AND RAMOS

9. ACTION ITEMS

a) Subcommittee Appointments

Staff made a presentation regarding the Budget Committee and the Legislative Committee. Chair Mohler opened the matter for discussion among the Commission. After discussion, Chair Mohler suggested that the two committees should be acted upon separately.

Upon motion by Commissioner Aboudamous and second by Commissioner Ramos, the Commission appointed Chair Mohler and Commissioner Leary to the Fiscal Year 2023-24 Budget Committee by the following vote:

VOTE:

AYES: ABOUDAMOUS, RAMOS, COTTRELL, LEARY, AND MOHLER

NOES: NONE
ABSENT: NONE
ABSTAIN: NONE

Upon motion by Chair Mohler and second by Commissioner Cottrell, the Commission appointed Commissioner Aboudamous and Alternate Commissioner Painter to the Legislative Committee by the following vote:

VOTE:

AYES: MOHLER, COTTRELL, ABOUDAMOUS, RAMOS, AND LEARY

NOES: NONE
ABSENT: NONE
ABSTAIN: NONE

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Meeting Minutes of February 6, 2023 Page 3 of 3

b) CALAFCO Board of Directors Vacancy and Possible Nomination

The Commission received an update on the membership of the California Association of LAFCOs (CALAFCO) Board of Directors and an opportunity to nominate a county member to complete an unexpired term on the CALAFCO Board. Chair Mohler opened the matter for Commission discussion and comment.

Upon motion by Chair Mohler and second by Commissioner Aboudamous, the Commission nominated Commissioner Cottrell for county member for the California Association of LAFCOs (CALAFCO) Board of Directors by the following vote:

VOTE:

AYES:

MOHLER, ABOUDAMOUS, COTTRELL, LEARY, AND RAMOS

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

NONE

COMMISSIONER COMMENTS/REQUESTS FOR FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS 10.

Chair Mohler opened the meeting to Commission comments/requests; none were received.

ADJOURNMENT TO NEXT REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING 11.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:52 PM. The next regular LAFCO meeting is scheduled for Monday, April 3, 2023, at 2:00 PM. The meeting location will be at the Napa County Board of Supervisors Chambers, located at 1195 Third Street, 3rd floor, Napa, CA 94559.

ATTEST:

Brendon Freeman, Executive Officer

Prepared by:

Dawn Mittleman Longoria, Assistant Executive Officer,

Interim Clerk