

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Subdivision of the State of California

1030 Seminary Street, Suite B Napa, California 94559 Phone: (707) 259-8645 www.napa.lafco.ca.gov

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

Agenda Item 7a (Information)

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

PREPARED BY: Brendon Freeman, Executive Officer

MEETING DATE: December 7, 2020

SUBJECT: Chair Rotation due to Vacancy

SUMMARY

This item is for information purposes only. The Commission's *Policy on Establishing the* Officers of the Commission ("the Policy"), included as Attachment One, provides an annual rotational system for the appointment of the Chair and Vice Chair offices based on seat designations. Each Commissioner is assigned a seat designation. Alternate Commissioners do not have seat designations and are not eligible for the Chair or Vice Chair offices. The Chair and Vice Chair serve one-year terms that begin on the first Monday in May. A full listing of current Commissioners and seat designations is provided below.

Current Member	Seat Designation
Vacant	City Member I
Margie Mohler	City Member II
Diane Dillon	County Member I
Brad Wagenknecht	County Member II
Vacant	Public Member
Scott Sedgley	Alternate City Member
Ryan Gregory	Alternate County Member
Eve Kahn	Alternate Public Member

The vacant City Member I seat was most recently occupied by Kenneth Leary, who served as Commission Chair from May 4, 2020, through November 30, 2020. On December 1, 2020, Kenneth Leary vacated the City Member I seat. Under Section VI of the Policy, Commissioner Mohler became the Chair on December 1, 2020, and will serve as Chair through May 2, 2021. Vice Chair Dillon will become Chair on May 3, 2021.

ATTACHMENT

1) Policy on Establishing the Officers of the Commission

Representative of the General Public

Vacant

Executive Officer



LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF NAPA COUNTY

Policy on Establishing the Officers of the Commission

(Adopted: August 9, 2001; Last Amended: November 18, 2019)

I. Background

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization ("CKH") Act of 2000 includes provisions specifying the composition of the Commission in <u>Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 56325)</u>. In addition, these sections specify the procedures to select Commissioners, terms of office, and selection of the Chair of the Commission.

II. Purpose

It is the policy of the Commission to establish policies which provide for the smooth and consistent operations of Commission business. The selection of officers of the Commission is a regular occurrence and therefore should follow adopted policy.

III. Officers of the Commission

- A) The officers of LAFCO shall consist of a Chair, a Vice Chair, and a Clerk.
- B) The Chair and Vice Chair shall be appointed and serve terms in accordance with Section V "Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair."
- C) The Executive Officer or the Executive Officer's designee shall serve as the Clerk.

IV. Duties of Officers

- A) Duties of the Chair: The Chair shall preside at all meetings of the Commission and shall conduct the business of the Commission according to "Rosenberg's Rules of Order." The Chair shall preserve order and decorum and shall decide all questions of order subject to the action of a majority of the Commission.
- B) Duties of the Vice Chair: In the absence of the Chair, the Vice Chair shall assume all duties and responsibilities of the Chair's office.
- C) Duties of the Clerk: The Clerk shall call the roll, note approval of the minutes or corrections thereto, maintain record of testimony and action of the Commission on each item, and any other action deemed appropriate and necessary by the Commission to conduct its meetings and business.

V. Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair

- A) Term of Office: The terms of office of the Chair and Vice Chair shall be for one year, beginning on the first Monday in May.
- B) Rotation: The Chair and Vice Chair shall be appointed by the Commission according to the following annual rotational system, effective May 4, 2020, unless a temporary change is made pursuant to Section V(C):

Chair Designations	Vice Chair Designations
City Member I	County Member I
County Member I	City Member II
City Member II	County Member II
County Member II	Public Member
Public Member	City Member I

It shall be the responsibility of the Executive Officer to maintain a record of the seat designations and occupants, and to annually inform the Commission prior to the rotation.

C) The Commission may create temporary changes to the rotation as part of an action item placed on a meeting agenda.

VI. Vacancy

The offices of Chair and Vice Chair shall reside with the particular appointing authority assigned to a designated seat. In the event that a Commissioner serving as Chair or Vice Chair is no longer able to serve on the Commission for any reason, the remainder of that Commissioner's term in office shall be fulfilled by the other Commissioner from the same appointing authority (for example, if the Commissioner designated as "City Member I" is removed from the office of Chair in January, the Commissioner designated "City Member II" shall serve as Chair through the day immediately prior to the first Monday in May), subject to the following:

- A) On the first Monday in May, the established rotation set forth in Section V(B) "Rotation," above, shall resume.
- B) Should the office of Chair or Vice Chair be vacated by the Public Member, the Commission shall appoint another Commissioner at its next meeting to fulfill the remainder of the officer's unexpired term.