

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

Agenda Item 5d (Consent/Information)

TO:	Local Agency Formation Commission
PREPARED BY:	Brendon Freeman, Executive Officer
MEETING DATE:	October 2, 2017
SUBJECT:	Senate Bill 448 Support Letter

BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY

On August 7, 2017, the Commission approved a support position for Senate Bill 448 (Wieckowski) relating to inactive special districts. Specifically, the bill requires the State Controller to publish a comprehensive list of special districts on or before July 1, 2019, and to annually update that list. The bill also requires special districts to file their annual audits with the LAFCO for each county that the district is located within. Further, the bill establishes a definition for the term "inactive district" and requires LAFCOs to dissolve inactive districts while waiving protest proceedings by holding one public hearing without conducting a special study.

On August 9, 2017, staff submitted a letter to Senator Wieckowski in support of Senate Bill 448. A copy of the submitted letter is included as Attachment One. This report is presented for information purposes only. No formal action will be taken as part of this item.

ATTACHMENT

1) Letter in Support of Senate Bill 448 (August 9, 2017)

Juliana Inman, Commissioner Councilmember, City of Napa

Margie Mohler, Commissioner Councilmember, Town of Yountville

Kenneth Leary, Alternate Commissioner Councilmember, City of American Canyon Brad Wagenknecht, Chair County of Napa Supervisor, 1st District

Diane Dillon, Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 3rd District

Ryan Gregory, Alternate Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 2nd District Brian J. Kelly, Vice Chair Representative of the General Public

Gregory Rodeno, Alternate Commissioner Representative of the General Public

> Brendon Freeman Executive Officer



Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Subdivision of the State of California 1030 Seminary Street, Suite B Napa, California 94559 Phone: (707) 259-8645 Fax: (707) 251-1053 www.napa.lafco.ca.gov

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

August 9, 2017

Senator Bob Wieckowski California State Senate California State Capitol, Room 4085 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SB 448 – SUPPORT (As amended July 17, 2017)

Dear Senator Wieckowski:

On behalf of the Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County ("Napa LAFCO"), we have been monitoring your bill *SB* 448. The July 17 amendments remove the remaining Napa LAFCO concerns, and as a result, we are pleased to support the bill. We thank you for working closely with CALAFCO to resolve our concerns with the bill.

The proposed authority for LAFCOs to dissolve inactive districts as defined in the bill and identified by the State Controller's Office (SCO) through the contemplated streamlined process creates great efficiencies for LAFCOs.

Further, we support the idea of increased communication and enhanced transparency by way of LAFCOs directly receiving reports from the special districts for which they have authority. Having the SCO clearly identify independent special districts on their website is also a great step in gaining efficiencies and greater transparency at the state level.

Thank you again for taking our concerns into consideration and for your work with CALAFCO on this bill. We are pleased to support *SB 448*.

Yours sincerely,

Brendon Freeman Executive Officer

cc: Pamela Miller, Executive Director, CALAFCO Brad Wagenknecht, Napa LAFCO Chair

Juliana Inman, Commissioner Councilmember, City of Napa

Margie Mohler, Commissioner Councilmember, Town of Yountville

Kenneth Leary, Alternate Commissioner Councilmember, City of American Canyon Brad Wagenknecht, Chair County of Napa Supervisor, 1st District

Diane Dillon, Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 3rd District

Ryan Gregory, Alternate Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 2nd District Brian J. Kelly, Vice Chair Representative of the General Public

Gregory Rodeno, Alternate Commissioner Representative of the General Public

> Brendon Freeman Executive Officer