

## August 2, 2010 Agenda Item No. 10a (Information)

July 26, 2010

TO:	Local Agency Formation Commission
FROM:	Keene Simonds, Executive Officer
SUBJECT:	<b>California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions</b> The Commission will receive a report on the results of the California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions' proposal to amend its bylaws to establish regions for purposes of electing board of directors. The proposal was approved by a vote of 51 to 2.

The California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions (CALAFCO) was founded in 1971 to assist its members with educational and technical resources in carrying out their duties to facilitate the orderly formation and development of local agencies. This includes organizing annual conferences and workshops, coordinating training classes, and drafting legislation. CALAFCO is governed by an elected at-large 15-member board of directors that includes four city members, four county members, four special district members, and three public members. Paid staff consists of a fulltime Executive Director and a part-time Administrative Assistant. CALAFCO's membership currently includes 57 of the 58 LAFCOs with Tehama choosing not to participate.

## A. Information

CALAFCO's proposal to modify the voting process for board of directors from at-large to regions was approved by the membership through a mail ballot ending on July 9, 2010. The final vote was 51 to 2 in favor of the proposal with four members choosing not to participate. The two members voting against the proposal were San Bernardino and Solano. CALAFCO's meeting minutes detailing the vote is attached.

The approved by-law changes establish four regions within CALAFCO for the sole purposes of electing board of directors. The regions are based on geography and include (a) northern, (b) central, (c) coastal, and (d) southern. The bylaw changes dictate each region will be responsible for electing four directors representing county, city, district, and public members through caucuses. This expands the total number of directors from 15 to 16 with one additional public member. All 16 seats are up for election during the 2010 Annual Conference in Palm Springs. Two of the members initially elected within each region will serve two-year terms while the other two members will serve one-year terms. All subsequent terms will be staggered every two years.

LAFCO of Napa County has been assigned to the coastal region.

Juliana Inman, Chair Councilmember, City of Napa

Lewis Chilton, Commissioner Councilmember, Town of Yountville

Joan Bennett, Alternate Commissioner Councilmember, City of American Canyon Bill Dodd, Vice Chair County of Napa Supervisor, 4th District

Brad Wagenknecht, Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 1st District

Mark Luce, Alternate Commissioner County of Napa Supervisor, 2nd District Brian J. Kelly, Commissioner Representative of the General Public

Gregory Rodeno, Alternate Commissioner Representative of the General Public California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions August 2, 2010 Page 2 of 2

## **B.** Commission Review

The Commission is invited to review and discuss the report and direct staff to follow up with any additional information as needed.

Attachment:

1) CALAFCO Meeting Minutes for July 9, 2010