

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Subdivision of the State of California

1754 Second Street, Suite C Napa, California 94559 Phone: (707) 259-8645 www.napa.lafco.ca.gov

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

Agenda Item 7a (Information)

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

PREPARED BY: Brendon Freeman, Executive Officer \mathcal{BF}

MEETING DATE: December 5, 2022

SUBJECT: Presentation on the Napa Valley Drought Contingency Plan

SUMMARY

No actions will be taken as part of this item. The Commission will receive information on the Napa Valley Drought Contingency Plan (DCP) from Patrick Costello, Water Resources Analyst for the City of Napa. The DCP final report was adopted in September 2022, and is available online at: https://www.napawatersheds.org/dcp.

The DCP was conducted by a task force of local water managers using a grant secured under the US Bureau of Reclamation's Drought Response Program. The DCP Task Force includes the County of Napa, the City of American Canyon, the City of Calistoga, the City of Napa, the City of St. Helena, the Town of Yountville, and the Napa Sanitation District. The City of Napa is the lead agency and convener for the DCP Task Force.

The DCP represents a cooperative and collaborative effort to build long-term drought resiliency throughout the Napa Valley. The DCP prepares local agencies for drought and associated impacts in advance of a crisis. By prioritizing the development of projects and management response actions, the DCP assists local water managers and provides the tools for long-term drought resilience for the region's water supply.

The presentation of this item relates to recommendations included in the Commission's *Napa Countywide Water and Wastewater Municipal Service Review*, available online at: https://www.napa.lafco.ca.gov/uploads/documents/NapaCountywideWaterWastewaterM SR_Updated_10-4-21.pdf.

ATTACHMENTS

None

Councilmember, City of Napa

County of Napa Supervisor, 2nd District

Brad Wagenknecht, Vice Chair