Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County Subdivision of the State of California

1030 Seminary Street, Suite B Napa, California 94559 Telephone: (707) 259-8645 Facsimile: (707) 251-1053 www.napa.lafco.ca.gov

We Manage Local Government Boundaries, Evaluate Municipal Services, and Protect Agriculture

December 3, 2012 Agenda Item No. 5e (Consent/Information)

November 26, 2012

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM: Keene Simonds, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Designation of Chair and Vice Chair for Calendar Year 2013

The Commission will receive a report regarding the designation of the Chair and Vice Chair for the 2013 calendar year. The report is being

presented for information.

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 specifies each Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) shall comprise no less than five regular members made by appointment. This includes two members appointed by the board of supervisors, two members appointed by the city selection committee, and one member appointed by the other four regular members.

A. Information

It is the policy of LAFCO of Napa County ("Commission") to annually rotate the Chair and Vice Chair among its regular members. The subject policy was adopted in August 2004 and assigns seat designations for all five regular positions on the Commission. The underlying purpose of the policy is to provide an automatic and predetermined rotation of the Chair and Vice Chair at the beginning of each calendar year. The policy ensures each regular member position and – in the case of county and city members – their appointing authority has an opportunity to serve as the Commission's presiding officer.

With the preceding comments in mind, and based on the current roster, the Commission's adopted policy designates Brad Wagenknecht and Brian J. Kelly as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, in 2013. The complete rotation schedule follows.

2013 Chair Schedule	2013 Vice Chair Schedule
1. County Member II (Wagenknecht)	1. Public Member (Kelly)
2. Public Member (Kelly)	2. City Member I (Bennett)
3. City Member I (Bennett)	3. County Member I (Dodd)
4. County Member I (Dodd)	4. City Member II (Chilton)
5. City Member II (Chilton)	5. County Member II (Wagenknecht)

Councilmember, City of Napa

Designation of the Chair and Vice Chair in 2013 Calendar Year December 3, 2012 Page 2 of 2

B. Commission Review

This item has been agendized as part of the consent calendar for information only. Accordingly, if interested, the Commission is invited to pull this item for additional discussion and/or to provide future direction with the concurrence of the Chair.

Attachment:

1) Commission Policy: Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County

Policy For the Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair (Adopted: August 3, 2004)

It is the policy of the Commission that:

- 1. This policy becomes effective January 1, 2005.
- 2. The terms of office of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be one calendar year and shall begin on January 1.
- 3. Upon the date of adoption of this policy, for the purposes of establishing a rotational system for the appointment of the chair and vice-chair, each regular member seat on the Commission shall have a designation as indicated in the following table:

Seat Designation Occupant of Seat on Aug. 1, 2004

City Member I Lori Luporini
City Member II Ken Slavens
County Member I Mike Rippey
County Member II Brad Wagenknecht

Public Member Guy Kay

It shall be the responsibility of the Executive Officer to maintain a record of the seat designations and occupants.

- 4. The Chair on January 1, 2005 shall be the occupant of the seat designated City Member I.
- 5. The Vice-Chair of the Commission shall be appointed according to the following:

Seat Designation of the Chair Seat Designation of the Vice-Chair

City Member I
County Member I
County Member I
City Member II
City Member II
County Member II
County Member II
Public Member
City Member I

- 6. Upon completion of a term as Vice-Chair, that member shall be appointed to serve as the Chair of the Commission.
- 7. If a vacancy should be created in the office of the Chair for any reason, the members shall, at the next regular meeting, appoint the Vice-Chair to fill the vacancy for the remaining unexpired term.
- 8. If a vacancy should be created in the office of the Vice-Chair for any reason, the members shall, at the next regular meeting, appoint a Vice-Chair to fill the vacancy for the remaining unexpired term in accordance with the system set forth in Statement #5.
- 9. If a member fulfills an unexpired term of the Chair, he shall be appointed to fulfill the subsequent full term of the office.
- 10. The Commission may create temporary changes to the schedule in Statement #5 as part of an action item placed on the agenda.

Local Agency Formation Commission of Napa County

Policy For the Appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair

Seat Designations and Occupants Updated: July 25, 2005

City Member I Lori Luporini

City Member II Dr. Andrew Alexander

County Member I Bill Dodd

County Member II Brad Wagenknecht

Public Member Guy Kay