Local Agency Formation Commission LAFCO of Napa County

1700 Second Street, Suite 268 Napa, California 94559 Telephone: (707) 259-8645 Facsimile: (707) 251-1053 http://napa.lafco.ca.gov

December 7, 2009 Agenda Item No. 6c (Consent: Information)

November 30, 2008

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM: Keene Simonds, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Expiring Commissioner Terms in 2010

The Commission will receive a report identifying the Commissioner terms scheduled to expire in 2010. The report is being presented for information.

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 states the composition of Local Agency Formation Commissions (LAFCOs) shall include two regular members representing the county, two regular members representing the cities, and one regular member representing the general public. LAFCOs may also have two regular members representing special districts. Each category represented on LAFCO also has one alternate member. Appointments for the county and city regular and alternate members are made by board of supervisors and city selection committees, respectively. Appointments for the regular and alternate public members are made by the county and city members on LAFCO. All terms on LAFCO are four years.

A. Information

LAFCO of Napa County ("Commission") has two members with terms scheduled to expire on May 3, 2010, Brian J. Kelly and Bill Dodd. Agenda Item No. 8e discusses the Commission's options with respect to the public member appointment process involving the seat currently filled by Commissioner Kelly. Staff will notify and request the Board of Supervisors make a new four-year appointment involving the county seat currently filled by Commissioner Dodd. A full listing of the expiring terms for all Commissioners follows.

Commissioner	Appointing Authority	Term Expires
Brian J. Kelly, Chair	Commission	May 3, 2010
Juliana Inman, Vice-Chair	City Selection Committee	May 2, 2011
Lewis Chilton	City Selection Committee	May 4, 2013
Bill Dodd	Board of Supervisors	May 3, 2010
Brad Wagenknecht	Board of Supervisors	May 7, 2012
Joan Bennett, Alternate	City Selection Committee	May 4, 2013
Mark Luce, Alternate	Board of Supervisors	May 4, 2013
Gregory Rodeno, Alternate	Commission	May 7, 2012

Attachments: none